Live Below the Line Day #2

Live Below the Line Day #2

Yesterday I was hungry in the afternoon and early evening, but apart from that I was fine. Today, however, has definitely been a hungry day! I’ve felt hungry from about 10:30am, and I had to battle to maintain proper focus at work. All I seem to be able to think about (even now after dinner) is how hungry I am.

This is what I’ve eaten today:

Live Below the Line - Day #2

Breakfast:

Tesco Value bran flakes with milk.

Lunch:

2 small slices of homemade toast (which continues to be pretty horrible) with Tesco Value peanut butter, and a third of a carrot.

Pre-walk home snack:

1 further slice of toast & peanut butter.

Post-walk home snack:

Handful of dry bran flakes – genuinely delicious when you’re super hungry!

Dinner:

Kidney bean chili & homemade tortilla chips. The tortilla chips were nice, but the chili was less nice when it wasn’t hidden inside wraps I had last night.

What it’s all about!

I’ve been hungry today. So what?

The reason I’m doing this is to raise awareness for the 1.2 billion people who live every single day in extreme poverty, living on the equivalent of less than £1 per day for everything – food, healthcare, clothing – everything. That’s almost 20% of the world’s population, all of whom have a much better idea of what hunger feels like than I do!

But big numbers run the risk of dehumanising and homogenising the individuals, families and communities that make up these statistics. I think this experiment has made me more passionate about hearing people telling their own stories, and supporting charities that support genuinely empower individuals and communities from within.

So I’ll try and share some more videos of people telling their own stories in tomorrow’s post.

Donations

In the meantime do think about supporting one of these brilliant charities!

www.livebelowtheline.com/me/charissa1 (Tearfund)
www.livebelowtheline.com/me/charissa2 (Send a Cow)

Leave a Comment:

