Poverty is everywhere

Sometimes when I look back at blog posts I’m pleasantly surprised by what I wrote, other times I realise that I’ve struck completely the wrong tone, or I see the nuance that I failed to represent.

Reading back over my “Live Below The Line” post from a couple of weeks ago, I realised that it utterly fails to recognise the very real poverty that some people experience here in the UK. Benefit delays, benefit sanctions, deep debt, looking after a whole family on one small income, having to invest in expensive child care, unexpected unemployment, addiction, homelessness, and so on, can all mean that individuals and families find themselves with nothing to eat. Food poverty happens here too!

I really love what Christians Against Poverty (CAP) and the Trussell Trust do, and I would love for my “Live Below the Line” campaign to raise awareness for them too! So if poverty here in the UK is something that sits heavily on your heart, why not make the first step and follow both the charities on Facebook to see what they are up to. – CAP helps people out of debt in really practical ways, like helping with budgeting and negotiating repayment plans with the companies people owe money to, and The Trussell Trust provides food to those in crisis situations via local food banks.

I would also really love to hear of any other UK charities that are working to support those experiencing real poverty here in the UK. Please let me know in the comments below, and I’ll see if I can include them in future posts!

Tearfund - Uganda - Richard
This is Ochello Richard (30) his wife Amido Rose (26) and his children Paul, Solomon and Mary. He is a fisherman whose life was transformed by a Tearfund supported church project in Uganda. (Photo from their website.)

In the meantime, my news is that I shall be “Living Below the Line” Wednesday 8th – Sunday 12th April, which means it is just over two weeks away! Please do consider supporting one of my two brilliant charities:

Tearfund – https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/charissa1

Send a Cow – https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/charissa2

I am 20% towards my £200 total for Send a Cow, and 0% towards by £200 total for Tearfund so far.

Why not watch Send A Cow’s ‘Live Below the Line’ video to see why it’s worth supporting them!

For those of you who are Christians, why not watch a few of Tearfund’s “See For Yourself” videos to see why they’re worth supporting! They’re all on their YouTube channel.

Thank you for your love and support.

Leave a Comment:

