Pointless or purposeful?

I have been feeling pretty low over the last few days, so I spent some time this morning identifying the things that God says are part of my life’s purpose. So in no particular order –

  • I am to be salt and light. – Matthew 5:13-14
  • I am to bring glory to God.1 Corinthians 10:31
  • I am to help rule and steward the natural world. – Genesis 1:28
  • I am to make disciples, teaching people to follow Christ. – Matthew 28:19-20
  • I am to be a member of Christ’s body, with my own specific purpose. – Romans 12:4
  • I am to present myself as a living sacrifice in worshipful service to Christ. – Romans 12:1
  • I am to love God. – Luke 10:27
  • I am to love my neighbour. – Luke 10:27
  • I am to work as for the Lord. – Colossians 3:23
  • I am to do the good works set before me by God. – Ephesians 2:10
  • I am to behold Jesus in order to become like him. 2 Corinthians 3:18
  • I am to help humanity to be fruitful. Genesis 1:28
  • I am to proclaim the excellencies of my saviour. 1 Peter 2:9

My life is not pointless, it is full to bursting with God-given purpose! (Do let me know if I’ve missed anything!)

One thought on “Pointless or purposeful?

  1. This is lovely and encouraging thing to read for me, as I too am in a very low spot. Thank you. I saw your comment on Bear Grylls and then watched the video. Bear is a real inspiration of gentle strength, to me.

    Like

Leave a Comment:

