A Bit of a Life Update

Navigation

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9, NKJV)

I just thought I’d blog a bit of an update on what’s happening in my life at the moment. Things have changed a bit geographically, and I thought that some of you might want to know what’s been going on.

As many of you will know, a few months ago I made a plan to live to Nottingham. Since I am not working at the moment, I wanted to find somewhere to live where I’d be able to rest and heal, and it felt like that Nottingham might be the answer. It is a city where lots of my friends have settled and they seem to really love it, and I had been offered a place in a three person house-share with one of my best friends. So on paper, it seemed like a very good plan.

However, despite a logical plan, the move to Nottingham actually proved too much of a strain on my emotional well-being. It felt super intimidating to be in a big new city, attempting to carve out a new life, without any real sense that I wanted to commit to being there long-term. I felt very lost and anxious, and it put my fragile emotional well-being under too much pressure. I really began to crumble. Not fun!

If I had been well, I probably would have just pressed on through and emerged the other side loving life. However, I’m not fully well yet. So after lots of rather anxious thinking, some conversations with wise people, and some prayer I realised that it wasn’t wise to stay in Nottingham, and I decided to move back to Coventry. I had stayed in Coventry for about five weeks before I headed to Nottingham, and I had been really happy whilst I was there, and I definitely felt on the mend.

I’ve been back in Coventry for a couple of weeks now, and I’m feeling so much better! Being in Coventry is like being home. I am in a city that I know and love. (Yes, it is possible to have real affection for Coventry!) I am living with people that I’ve kind of lived with before, and I am going to the church I went to when I was at university. It is a city filled with happy memories. It was definitely the right decision!

I’m so thankful for the love and care of my friends in both Nottingham and Coventry. God is very generous!

Leave a Comment:

